Carl Pavano, who has started 19 games for the Yankees since signing a 4 year $40 million dollar contract, will start today against the Baltimore Orioles.
I remember talking about this way back when. Pavano signs a big deal with the Yanks after a fairly good season with the Marlins. A gigantic contract for a guy who was just not proven yet, and it backfired. Pavano hurt everything on his body that could be hurt. His ribs, his butt, his elbow, his back, and his shoulder not in that order.
The call comes, because they don't think Phil Hughes is polished enough down in Trip A. So, Pavano it is.
Jesus Christ....he'll probably wind up throwing a no-no.
EDIT: Pavano pitched 5 innings, gave up 3 runs, K'd five, and gave up 7 hits. All in all, Pavano looked like Pavano would without his usually ball movement.
Showing posts with label new york yankees. Show all posts
Showing posts with label new york yankees. Show all posts
Saturday, August 23, 2008
Wednesday, July 30, 2008
Yankees acquire "Pudge"
The New York Yankees looking to solidify the position of catcher have acquired Ivan Pudge Rodriguez from the Detroit Tigers in exchange for Kyle Farnsworth.
Fuck the heck?!
The Yankees are getting deals like crazy, first off Xavier Nady and Damaso Marte for a few Minor Leaguers. And now trading a middle reliever (a mediocre reliever at best) for a 13-time Gold Glove catcher? What the hell?
Fuck the heck?!
The Yankees are getting deals like crazy, first off Xavier Nady and Damaso Marte for a few Minor Leaguers. And now trading a middle reliever (a mediocre reliever at best) for a 13-time Gold Glove catcher? What the hell?
Tuesday, May 27, 2008
Baltimore v. New York... it's homerfest 2008!
Apparently the New York Yankees and the Baltimore Orioles (pronounced BAAL-Tee-Mohr) don't know Ozzie Guillen's style of small-ball. They collectively hit 9 dingers in tonight's baseball game. The Score right now is 8-8 with Mariano Rivera pitching for the Yanks.
That's a lot of dingers. Can the Braves borrow some?
Friday, April 11, 2008
Red Sox Nation ...under Yankee Stadium
This story is fantastic, and it proves that people are truly gutsy and do things that could probably get them murdered.
The New York Post is reporting from two of the construction workers who have been working on the $1.3 billion dollar project that will be Yankee Stadium. They apparently have it on good authority that a Boston-Fan who was working for the crew buried a Boston Red Sox t-shirt under that Visitors Dug out.
I love the Red Sox Nation...
Eff the Yankees up their stupid asses.
Thursday, January 3, 2008
Report: Yank's to Clemens "Go Screw!"
That's right. I think we kind of knew it was going to happen. The Yankees don't mind when their people are taking steroids, I guess, like Sheffield or Giambi, but when it comes down to Roger Clemens who ultimately became a bust last year, and you spend a ridiculous amount of money to bring the guy in when half the season was over, it probably puts a bad taste in your mouth. I could be wrong.
Hoooooowever, Hank Steinbrenner has said that the Yankees have no intention of signing Roger Clemens....ever? I don't know about ever. I'm sure when half the season is over, they can sign him to a deal worth something like $37 gazillion dollars.
Hoooooowever, Hank Steinbrenner has said that the Yankees have no intention of signing Roger Clemens....ever? I don't know about ever. I'm sure when half the season is over, they can sign him to a deal worth something like $37 gazillion dollars.
Wednesday, December 12, 2007
The Yanks ask.."Carl...could you skedaddle?"

Carl Pavano garnered a lot of interest in his free agent year back in 2005. I believe that the Red Sox wanted him as well as the Yankees. The Yankees wound up getting the Florida Marlin pitcher for the steep price of 4 years at $39.95 million dollars. Now, when the Yanks did this, they were under scrutiny, because they had thrown money at a guy who really didn't prove himself. . . a lot of money at that. Sure, Carl P went 18-8 with a 3.00 ERA in 2004, but what about 2003? He went 12-13 with a 4.30 ERA. It's not unlike the Yankees to make a mistake with a Free Agent (See: Jason Giambi), but this was a guy who just wasn't proven. Carl Pavano was hooooooooorrrible before 2004. In 2005, Pavano started 17 games and went 4-6 before getting injured and being out...until 2007! In 2007, Pavano started 2 (!!!!!) games, and went 1-0 with a 4.77 ERA, having given up 6 ER and 12 hits in 11.1 IP.
To get the point about my rant on Carl Pavano...the Yankees have asked Mr. Pavano to "get the fuck out!" They're on the verge of offering Pavano a minor league deal...and they're having a conversation about it. . . . !!!!!!!!!!!!! This is another "WHAT THE FUCK?!?" moment. Why can't the Yankees just release him? The amount of money you'll lose is clearly worth it. Carl Pavano is fucking dead weight and has been since you've signed him. He's pitched in 19 games in 3 years! And he was out all of 2006.
This is obviously a no-brainer.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)