Carl Pavano, who has started 19 games for the Yankees since signing a 4 year $40 million dollar contract, will start today against the Baltimore Orioles.
I remember talking about this way back when. Pavano signs a big deal with the Yanks after a fairly good season with the Marlins. A gigantic contract for a guy who was just not proven yet, and it backfired. Pavano hurt everything on his body that could be hurt. His ribs, his butt, his elbow, his back, and his shoulder not in that order.
The call comes, because they don't think Phil Hughes is polished enough down in Trip A. So, Pavano it is.
Jesus Christ....he'll probably wind up throwing a no-no.
EDIT: Pavano pitched 5 innings, gave up 3 runs, K'd five, and gave up 7 hits. All in all, Pavano looked like Pavano would without his usually ball movement.
Showing posts with label carl pavano. Show all posts
Showing posts with label carl pavano. Show all posts
Saturday, August 23, 2008
Wednesday, December 12, 2007
The Yanks ask.."Carl...could you skedaddle?"

Carl Pavano garnered a lot of interest in his free agent year back in 2005. I believe that the Red Sox wanted him as well as the Yankees. The Yankees wound up getting the Florida Marlin pitcher for the steep price of 4 years at $39.95 million dollars. Now, when the Yanks did this, they were under scrutiny, because they had thrown money at a guy who really didn't prove himself. . . a lot of money at that. Sure, Carl P went 18-8 with a 3.00 ERA in 2004, but what about 2003? He went 12-13 with a 4.30 ERA. It's not unlike the Yankees to make a mistake with a Free Agent (See: Jason Giambi), but this was a guy who just wasn't proven. Carl Pavano was hooooooooorrrible before 2004. In 2005, Pavano started 17 games and went 4-6 before getting injured and being out...until 2007! In 2007, Pavano started 2 (!!!!!) games, and went 1-0 with a 4.77 ERA, having given up 6 ER and 12 hits in 11.1 IP.
To get the point about my rant on Carl Pavano...the Yankees have asked Mr. Pavano to "get the fuck out!" They're on the verge of offering Pavano a minor league deal...and they're having a conversation about it. . . . !!!!!!!!!!!!! This is another "WHAT THE FUCK?!?" moment. Why can't the Yankees just release him? The amount of money you'll lose is clearly worth it. Carl Pavano is fucking dead weight and has been since you've signed him. He's pitched in 19 games in 3 years! And he was out all of 2006.
This is obviously a no-brainer.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)