Showing posts with label New York Metropolitans. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New York Metropolitans. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Metropolitans axe Randolph; Manuel steps in

Say what you will about The Mets, the greatest disappointment for New York in the last couple of years. They have been on the outs since early on this season which writers/fans/assholes (like me!) speculated would lead to the end of Willie Randolph's Managerial career with the Metropolitans.

Well, it has. Willie Randolph has gotten the proverbial axe, he has bit the bullet and swallowed. Jerry Manuel steps in to take his place (temporarily).

I have something to say about this, because I am not as much of an asshole as you think I am. I never said that Willie Randolp should get fired. I said that he will get fired, because the Metropolitans needed to do something Omar Minaya went out and got permission from the Owners to fire his Skipper, and he did just that. Willie Randolph isn't at fault her, other that opening his mouth so shit can fall out onto the ground, he's done nothing wrong. His team stinks. They're playing like a big band of misfits. Wagner blowing saves? WAGNER BLOWING SAVES?! Carlos Delgado hitting .200? Beltran hitting somewhere like .230? I mean, you can't have your fucking ALL-STARS hitting those numbers and not do anything about it.

Friday, May 23, 2008

Braves sweep Metropolitans...

The Atlanta Braves are on a tear. Literally, I think there's a hole in the universe, that every time the Braves win a game ... the hole tears more. Who knows, maybe I'm going nuts, or maybe the Braves are a very good team.

Chipper Jones for example, is still hitting over .400 (knock on wood) and it's almost June. Anyway, the Metropolitans are in meltdown mode right now, and when any team is in meltdown mode what happens? There's talk of firing your manager. Now, Willie "Please Like Me" Randolph has been running his mouth like an idiot for what seems like months (only once, I think) saying stuff on the radio that all the bad talk is racially motivated. . . Sigh. And then the whole thing with Billy "Talk to Me" Wagner, about the team not talking to the press after a loss.

Now David Wright is getting in the mix and I quote: "Losing like this, I hope, would ruin their nights." Apparently Wright's tone suggested that he didn't think that it would. The Mets have been playing abysmal baseball - they aren't clicking - and their losses show for that inadequate performances.

They signed Johan Santana to a $137.5 million dollar deal, and he's 5-3 with a 3.36 ERA. Like I've said time and time again, one player can not change a ball club. Last years downward spiral for the New York Metropolitans has carried over into 2008.

The Mets for the first time since April 13 are below .500, their payroll is $138 million dollars this year, compared to lets say the Florida Marlins who are 27-19 and their payroll is $21 million dollars (once again, that's less than what Alex Rodriguez makes a year). The Metropolitans are really not playing good baseball, the only person on their team who is batting over .300 is Ryan Church (who is playing stellar baseball) everyone else is not doing well. Delgado's average is almost below the Mendoza Line (he's batting .218 see: Mendoza Line), Beltran is batting somewhere around .250, Wright is around .280. Jose Reyes, as I've said on numerous occasions is beyond overrated. He's finally starting to pick it up batting .276 with 14 bags stolen, 4 HRs and 19 rbis. Finally, he's starting to pick it up (I drafted the guy, he's supposed to do good, I assumed anyway).

The Braves have 5 guys who are in the vicinity of batting .300, and some of them already have batted .300 and their averages fluctuate with every game. Chipper Jones is batting .412, McCann is batting .329, Escobar is batting .315, Kelly Johnson is batting .299, Kotsay is batting .296 (much improvement to Andruw Jones' average ...which is actually below the Mendoza Line). The Braves problem is their pitching staff, for the last ten years it's been their pitching staff, Tim Hudson settled down last night and pitched phenomenally for 8 innings. It's just funny to me that you go out and spend this boatload of cash on a guy who is supposed to be your saving grace and clearly he's not lighting the world on fire.

Another interesting tidbit...the Braves have scored 232 runs, they have a team ERA of 3.42 (second only to Oakland). The Mets have scored 213 runs, and have a team ERA of 4.09.

That's it, I'm ranting.

Friday, May 16, 2008

Wagner shits on Metropolitan Teamies.

Billy Wagner might be the only member for the New York Metropolitans that is firing on all cylinders. I mean Ryan Church has been too, but how long will that last. This isn't the first time that Billy Wagner has opened his mouth. A few weeks ago, he did the same thing and openly criticized Starting Pitcher Oliver Perez (THANK YOU!) about a shitty game he pitched. He only lasted 1 1/3 innings in the 13-1 shalacking at the hands of the Pittsburgh Pirates. Maybe Wagner is overly critical or maybe he's right.

I loathe the Mets, I honestly do, but I mean stand up for your team. Wagner says only a select few guys stand around to talk to reporters after a loss (him, David Wright, etc) and that it's getting old fast. You have to stand there after a loss as much as a win. This is your team, have some respect for yourself and answer to the problems your team is having. Don't just shower and bounce. I actually have to say that I respect Wagner for this. It's actually show that New York has done him some good, and that he doesn't give a fuck what people think. He wants people to be held accountable for their shitty playing and what-not.

This is very much like the Andruw Jones story, Andruw Jones came into Spring Training out of shape, and sluggish, and couldn't hit a bull in the ass with a snow shovel, but he didn't talk to reporters, he blamed it on allergies. Just fucking come out and say "I can't hit right now, I'm working through it, hopefully I can get back on track." Is that so fucking hard to do? I mean, come on, if every player did this there wouldn't be that many journalists sitting around having shit like Wagner's rant to talk about. Players need to take responsibility for their playing, whether it's good or it's bad, you need to put up or shut up.

Football is the anti-baseball. Football players have a fucking CONFERENCE after the game. Losers and winners talking about their individual performances. Baseball players get interviewed in the lockerroom. I mean, it's not the greatest place to conduct an interview when a player is standing around in his underoos, but whatever. I mean, if I was a baseball player, and I had a shitty game, I would want to talk about it. And I would joke about it too, albeit, seriously. If you're hitting/fielding/pitching is shitty, speak up, because if you do, your fans will get behind you. If you don't, you just get booed to high Heaven.

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Metropolitans fan dies after fall...

Apparently it's a good thing that the New York Metropolitans are leaving Shea Stadium, because fans die. It's the first time since 1985 that a fan died. In 1985, a 21-year-old Yonkers man fell 100 feet from an escalator and was killed, yesterday, a 36-year old man leaned over an escalator ledge and fell two-stories to his death. From ESPN.

Go Braves.

Wednesday, April 2, 2008

Metropolitans FALL!

It's the happiest day of my entire life (other than the future birth of my first child, and the Braves winning the 2008 World Series) Pedro Martinez limped off the mound ...injured. And, the Metropolitans do not know when he'll return.

"He said he felt a pop," Randolph said.

!!!!!!

I told you he would get hurt. I told you!

Pedro Martinez goes down, and with him The Metropolitans chance of winning the game. They lost on a Andino home run (the first of his career). Pedro feels a pop in his hammy, and when you feel a pop...that means...bad news.

Sunday, March 2, 2008

NEWS!

Firstly the Marc and JD Radio Show makes it's debut on VPZRadio.com tomorrow night at 10pm EST. If you're a fan, come out and show your support.

Thank you.

Secondly, the Metropolitans are making shit WAY too easy for good ol' JD here. I mean, Ryan Church and Marlon Anderson collided today! Haha! This stuff is so good, it kind of just flows off the keyboard. I don't even have to type it.





Okay, so I do have to type it. Whatever. Ryan Church sustained a concussion and apparently doesn't remember "Anything about Anything" (Thanks Willie) and Marlon Anderson suffered a bruised ego...err...chest.

Haha.

Saturday, March 1, 2008

Santana roughed up.


The News
Johan Santana's spring training debut with the Mets didn't go so well, as the lefty,
gave up three runs on four hits in two innings of a 5-4 loss to the Cardinals.
Our View
Well, it's time to drop Santana down on your cheat sheet.
Obviously we're kidding (NO THEY'RE NOT). He'll be just fine.

Thursday, February 28, 2008

I found this to be hilarious...

So, I get this MLB Newsbreakers thing, from ...who the fuck knows where. Basically it just arrives in my gmail every night at like 2am. I don't ask where it comes from, I just read it. Every day.

This particular piece of news, I found to be completely and utterly laughable. I literally said "Oh Really? You are, huh?" out loud, to no one.


The News
Mike Pelfrey allowed one hit over two innings while striking out one for the
Mets on Wednesday. "I don't know if it was a dominating performance, but I know
I did a lot of things right," Pelfrey said on a report on the AP. "All I wanted to do
was be aggressive and throw strikes and that's what I was able to do."
Our View
Pelfrey, who was 3-8 with a 5.57 ERA last season, will battle Orlando
Hernandez for the Mets fifth and final rotation spot this year.









He sucks. End of story. You don't get in the rotation of a Big League Ball club because you throw strikes. You gotta be able to win games, fo shizz.


What the *@$#?!