Color me obsessed, but I think Chipper Jones is having the best year of any baseball player this year period. Just look at his numbers on the year:
Chipper Jones ATL 56 Games 213 ABs 43 Runs 89 Hits 11 Doubles 0 triples 14 HRs 39 RBIs
35 Walks 22 K's (!) 1 Stolen Base 0 Caught Stealing .418 Batting Average .498 On Base .667 Slugging 1.165 OBS
Don't know what this means? I will explain it to you. In 56 games this season Chipper Jones has had 213 at bats, has 89 hits in those 213 ABs (14 HRs, 11 Doubles) has 39 Runs Batted In, has 35 Walks as opposed to 22 punch outs. Take into consideration that he has the most hits in Major League Baseball (5 more than Lance Berkman, and 8 more than the Rangers' Josh Hamilton at 81), so there is not much of a need to walk and/or strike out. His batting average is tops in the Majors as well. No one even comes close, Berkman is batting .382, and Pujols is batting .362. His on base percentage or OBP is highest (also) in Major League Baseball at .498, which means, he gets on base more often than not. Lance Berkman is close with .465. Chip's Slugging is 2nd only to Berkman who is slugging an immeasurable .732 (he's also got 17 HRs) Jones' SLG is .667. Chip's OPS is 1.165 2nd to Berkman's 1.197. This takes your Slugging and On Base Percentage and combines them to get this total. OBS stands for On-Base plus Slugging.
If the Braves make the playoffs and Chipper Jones is not the MVP, I will kill EVERYONE.
I'm not kidding.
Showing posts with label Albert Pujols. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Albert Pujols. Show all posts
Friday, June 6, 2008
Saturday, December 15, 2007
Card's send Edmonds to the Padres
Former All-Star and Oft' Hurt Cardinals Center Field is going to have a warm change of scenery...San Diego. That's right, the Pads have agreed to send Minor Leaguer David Freese to the Cards in return for Edmonds.
Jesus Christ...I know Edmonds is on his last legs...but still? This is ridiculous.
It also comes a day after the Mitchell Report (repour) and Albert Pujols being irate that NBC fucked the heck on their report (report) of the list.
Jesus Christ...I know Edmonds is on his last legs...but still? This is ridiculous.
It also comes a day after the Mitchell Report (repour) and Albert Pujols being irate that NBC fucked the heck on their report (report) of the list.
Labels:
Albert Pujols,
David Freese,
fuck the heck,
Jim Edmonds
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)